• Ways to Give
  • Job Opportunities
  • Patient Portal
Decrease (-) Restore Default Increase (+)
Print    Email

Media Release

Julie Reinhart

Office: 419-436-6621
Cell: 419-340-2455

Fostoria Community Hospital Awards Healthcare Scholarships

posted on: 11/28/2011

FOSTORIA, Ohio, June 6, 2011 – Fostoria Community Hospital awarded $9,500 in scholarships to 15 local students pursing healthcare careers.

The scholarships were awarded on behalf of three scholarship funds administered by the Fostoria Community Hospital Foundation. These funds were established by former Fostoria physicians and their families to encourage healthcare careers amongst local students.

Seven scholarships were awarded from the G.H.W. Bruggemann Memorial Scholarship Fund which assists employees of Fostoria Community Hospital and their children who are pursing careers in health care. The recipients include: Meredith Conine, Mount Carmel College of Nursing registered nurse program; LeeAnn Doe, Bowling Green State University registered nurse program; Bethany Mack, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill master’s in public health program; Morgan Podach, University of Findlay occupational therapy program; Stephanie Porter, Baldwin-Wallace College physical therapy program; Katelyn Schiefer, Walsh University registered nurse program; and Nick Swint, Ohio Northern University physical therapy program.

Three scholarships were awarded from the J.L. Murphy Memorial Scholarship Fund which encourages local students to pursue a career in medicine. The recipients include: Vivian Gao, Case Western Reserve University physician program; Brittany Hargis, Miami University pediatric medicine program; and Abigail Marshall, Kettering College of Medical Arts physician assistant program.

Six scholarships were awarded from the J.A. Murray Scholarship Fund which encourages health care careers, particularly physicians, nurses and other hospital-based professionals. The recipients include: Jacqueline Faeth, Ohio University physical therapy program; Lindsay Fleegle, Ohio Northern University pharmacy program; Jordon Geroski, University of Dayton orthopaedic surgeon program; Emily Hemminger, University of Toledo registered nurse program; Jessica Lynch, University of Findlay pharmacy program; and Morgan Podach.

The Foundation’s scholarship program has awarded nearly $70,000 since its inception in 1997.

To learn more about Fostoria Community Hospital, visit www.promedica.org/fostoria.


Fostoria Community Hospital is a member of ProMedica, a mission-based organization that is ranked the No. 2 most integrated health system in the U.S. ProMedica was formed in 1986 and is a Toledo, Ohio-based, not-for-profit healthcare organization with nearly 14,000 employees; 3,000 physicians and more than 306 facilities in Ohio and Michigan. ProMedica serves more than 2.73 million patients annually and includes 11 hospitals; ProMedica Continuum Services with senior, hospice, rehabilitation, and integrative services; ProMedica Physicians, a network of more than 315 primary care and specialty physicians; and Paramount Health Care, the largest HMO in northwest Ohio.